Skip to content

May 22, 2011

2011 Nebula Award Winners Announced

Posted by on May 22, 2011

Starting in 1965, when Frank Herbert won Best Novel with Dune, the Nebula Awards have been awarded annually by the Science Fiction Writers of America. Past winners have included Isaac Asimov, Ursula K LeGuin, Arthur C. Clarke, and Orson Scott Card. This award isn’t messing around.

Last night, at the Nebula Awards Weekend in Washington DC, SFWA announced the 2011 winners. I’m not going to lie, I haven’t read these, and truthfully haven’t even heard of most of them. But based on the Nebula Award’s previous track record, these are probably worth checking out for us nerds and other Sci Fi (note to the idiots at NBC Universal: not ‘SyFy’) fans everywhere.

2011 Nominees and Winners (in italics)

Short Story

“Ponies,” Kij Johnson
“How Interesting: A Tiny Man,” Harlan Ellison
“Arvies,” Adam-Troy Castro
“I’m Alive, I Love You, I’ll See You in Reno,” Vylar Kaftan
“The Green Book,” Amal El-Mohtar
“Ghosts of New York,” Jennifer Pelland
“Conditional Love,” Felicity Shoulders


“That Leviathan, Whom Thou Hast Made,” Eric James Stone
“Map of Seventeen,” Christopher Barzak
“The Jaguar House, in Shadow,” Aliette de Bodard
“Plus or Minus,” James Patrick Kelly
“Pishaach,” Shweta Narayan
“The Fortuitous Meeting of Gerard van Oost and Oludara,” Christopher Kastensmidt (
“Stone Wall Truth,” Caroline M. Yoachim


“The Lady Who Plucked Red Flowers Beneath the Queen’s Window,” Rachel Swirsky
The Alchemist, Paolo Bacigalupi
“Iron Shoes,” J. Kathleen Cheney
The Lifecycle of Software Objects, Ted Chiang
“The Sultan of the Clouds,” Geoffrey A. Landis
“Ghosts Doing the Orange Dance,” Paul Park


Blackout / All Clear, Connie Willis
The Native Star, M.K. Hobson
The Hundred Thousand Kingdoms, N.K. Jemisin
Shades of Milk and Honey, Mary Robinette Kowal
Echo, Jack McDevitt
Who Fears Death, Nnedi Okorafor

Bradbury Award – Best Dramatic Production

Inception, Christopher Nolan (director), Christopher Nolan (screenplay)
Despicable Me, Pierre Coffin & Chris Renaud (directors), Ken Daurio & Cinco Paul (screenplay), Sergio Pablos (story)
Doctor Who: “Vincent and the Doctor,” Richard Curtis (writer), Jonny Campbell (director)
How to Train Your Dragon, Dean DeBlois & Chris Sanders (directors), William Davies, Dean DeBlois, & Chris Sanders (screenplay)
Scott Pilgrim Vs. the World, Edgar Wright (director), Michael Bacall & Edgar Wright (screenplay)
Toy Story 3, Lee Unkrich (director), Michael Arndt (screenplay), John Lasseter, Andrew Stanton, & Lee Unkrich (story)

Andre Norton Award for Outstanding Young Adult Science Fiction or Fantasy

I Shall Wear Midnight, Terry Pratchett
Ship Breaker, Paolo Bacigalupi
White Cat, Holly Black
Mockingjay, Suzanne Collins
Hereville: How Mirka Got Her Sword, Barry Deutsch
The Boy from Ilysies, Pearl North
A Conspiracy of Kings, Megan Whalen Turner
Behemoth, Scott Westerfield